Skip to Main Content

February 2020 legislative update

Last summer, the Interim Study Committee on Opioids and Other Substance Use Disorders drafted five bills, all of which have been introduced. Great news! All five of these bills (HB1085 Prevention, HB1065 Harm Reduction, HB1017 Criminal Justice, SB007 Treatment, and SB028 Recovery) have passed out of their first committees for a good start to a full package of bills addressing substance use along the continuum of care.

Learn more about the bills by clicking the links below or using the CDPHE’s legislation tracker. The legislature can change its schedule fast, so it’s always great to stay up to date. The Consortium also posts updates on its twitter feed,

Opioid and Other Substances Bills

The bills now await being heard in Appropriations Committee of their initial chamber (either House or Senate). Due to TABOR cap limits, the budget is tight this year. Gov. Jared Polis has identified his budget priorities, and opioids and substance use were not among the priorities identified. In March or April, the bills likely will be sent to the alternate chamber for subsequent hearing.

For information about the Colorado Legislature visit

Follow this bill tracker for current status of the bills. For the most timely information on bill hearings, follow us on Twitter @CORXConsortium


The Consortium would like to acknowledge the prime sponsors (Sens. Pettersen, Winter, Donovan and Priola, and Reps. Kennedy and Herod), who introduced the bills and led them through the first committee. We would also like to acknowledge the individuals who helped with testimony for these bills (in alphabetical order by last name):

Theresa Anselmo, Katelyn Barrett, John Clapp, Frank Cornelia, Daniel Darting, José Esquibel, Melanie Dreiling, John Faught, Trina Faatz, Paul Glasheen, James Gannon, Danielle Gauna, Caitlin Grady, Camille Harding, Matt Hoag, Terri Hurst, Jessica Kobylinksi, Butch Lewis, Mila Long, Bethany Pace-Danley, Liz Owens, Joe Pelle, Maura Proser, Lisa Raville, Sarah Rowan Tracey Ritter, Duke Rumely, Don Stader, Brad Sjostrom, Judy Solano, Lauren Snyder, Nancy Steinruth, Chris Stock, Heather Thompson, Rob Valuck, Jay Voight, Robert Webber, Robert Werthwein, Tonya Wheeler, Jade Woodard, Amanda Wroblewski.

Their expertise and/or personal stories helped streamline testimony. Let us know if we missed anyone.

Thanks all for your hard work and contributions!